The Magic Shower

Standard

Throughout the ages, the shower has been considered a wonderful, fantastic, relaxing, cleansing, and even MAGICAL commodity.

This has been proven true in many ways, to many people.

 

One reason that the shower has gained so much popularity, is because it helps keep the human being to become somewhat sanitary and infinitely more hygeinic than in days of the past. People generally like to feel clean. There is nothing quite like the feeling of coming home from a long day at work and being able to rinse of the grease, grime and goo of every-day living. Take it from someone who used to work 14-hour shifts at the busiest Subway in the world— Showers are FANTASTIC. Another benefit of a nice showers  is taking advantage of the relaxing characteristics of the hot, steamy water hitting your skin. Sore muscles, cramping body parts, headaches, stuffy noses, etc. all feel soothed when under the caresses of the smooth hot water. Plus, while you are in the shower, there is no homework to do (or, in my case, grade), no dinner to make, no room to clean, no boy to avoid, etc.

….

Of course, the most important characteristic of the Shower, is its ability to turn EVERYONE into a mega-superstar. I have met very few people who do not feel inspired to sing their entire set of lungs out while in the shower.

That was the case for me tonight.

Tonight I was a star.

I was a Broadway star. I was INVINCIBLE. In the shower, I tried out for a small, simple part in the community production of Les Miserables. I sang my heart  out. I put so much emotion into that audition song, Vanilla Ice Cream. I was funny, convincing, and showed pure talent.  Instead of the factory worker which I auditioned for, they BEGGED me to be Eponine. I was the star of the show. I moved onto Broadway, where I became  known as the greatest Elphaba ever known. People sang MY version of Defying Gravity; not Idina Menzel’s.  I sang in American Idol, where I ALMOST won. Then, I became the voice-over of the newest, and most popular singing Disney Princess. However, when I turned the nozzle of the shower, and the water no longer masked the REAL sound of my voice, I became same old average me. No fantastic, inspiring talent. Not even any history in Musical Theater at all… BUT. Who know who and what I will be NEXT time I take a shower.

 

One response »

Leave a comment