Hiccups

Standard

So… I think that hiccups are really strange things. Some type of nerve malfunction… which results in a very obnoxious yet quite amusing sound and spasm. 

Today, my little sister got the hiccups which resulted in a trip down memory lane for us. We thought about the times that we got the hiccups when we were kids. 

Every time one of us got the hiccups we had to sing the primary song “I am Like a Star Shining Brightly” all the way through, complete with a little made up trill at the end of the song. We were determined that if we could make it all the way through the song, then our hiccups would be gone. We would sing the song and see how far into it we could get without hiccupping. If we hiccuped we had to stop singing mid-note and start over again. We would do it for the entirety of our hiccups until we could sing the song all the way through.

We were strange children… but that is how we cured our hiccups. And I think that secretly, every time we have the hiccups we still sing that song in our heads. I know that I still do.

One response »

Leave a comment